Revelation 1-3

{CHAPTERS 1 - 3}

[Click on the title below to open an article]

  1. Introduction the Revelation - (An introduction to and overview of the book of Revelation) - {PDF Copy}
  2. To Show His Servants - (In its entirety, the Book of Revelation is addressed to seven congregations located in the province of Asia in the first century) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Fourfold Structure - (The book has four major literary divisions with each marked by John finding himself "in the spirit") - {PDF Copy}
  4. Unsealing the Scroll - (Daniel was commanded to seal the Scroll, but the angel sent by Jesus commanded John NOT to do so since the season is here – Revelation 22:10) - {PDF Copy}
  5. Revelation's Recipients - (Revelation is addressed to seven very real churches located in the Roman province of Asia in the first century) - {PDF Copy}
  6. Provided Interpretations - (Revelation communicates symbolically, and it provides the reader with many of the most important interpretations of its images) - {PDF Copy}
  7. Call to Action  - {PDF Copy} - (Through a series of seven beatitudes, Revelation summons believers to faithfulness despite hostility, tribulation, and persecution)
  8. An End Time People - {PDF Copy} - (The church is the battlefield where the final war is being waged between the Lamb and the Ancient Serpent, Satan)
  9. Literal vs Nonliteral - {PDF Copy} - (The Book of Revelation informs the reader from the start that it communicates visually and symbolically)
  10. Common Errors of Interpretation - {PDF Copy} - (The relevance of Revelation for today is lost if we ignore its historical context and read it with incorrect presuppositions)
  11. Linear Chronological Sequence? - {PDF Copy} - (Are Revelation’s visions presented in chronological sequence? If so, how do we explain the many parallel descriptions that link them?)
  12. Jesus is the One - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus is the One in whom God unlocks the Hebrew Scriptures, reveals His nature and mysteries, and implements His redemptive plan for humanity)
  13. The Coming War - {PDF Copy} - (At the end of the age, Satan and his earthly servants will launch the final war against the saints, the followers of the Slain Lamb)
  14. The Great Cosmic Conflict - {PDF Copy} - (Throughout this age, Satan and his minions are waging an all-out cosmic war against the saints that will culminate in Armageddon)
  15. Understanding the Times - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus of Nazareth, the Crucified One, is the interpretive key that unlocks the Hebrew Scriptures and unveils the Unseen God)
  16. Jesus or Satan - {PDF Copy} - (The Inhabitants of the Earth refuse to follow the Lamb, instead, choosing to give their allegiance to the Dragon)

  1. A Revelation of Jesus - {PDF Copy} - (The Prologue of Revelation presents the key themes of the Book and declares that the season of fulfillment has arrived – Revelation 1:1-3)
  2. The Season is Here! - {PDF Copy} - (In Revelation, the period known as the Last Days began following the death, resurrection, and enthronement of Jesus)
  3. What Things Must Occur - (At its beginning, Revelation states that its purpose is to show God’s servants what things must SOON COME TO PASS – Revelation 1:1-3) - {PDF Copy}
  4. Greetings from the Throne - (The salutations from the throne to the churches highlight key themes of the book, especially the present reign of Jesus) - {PDF Copy}
  5. He Who Is - (God is the One Who is, Who was and Who is coming, the Almighty, the One Who sits on the Throne at the center of Creation) - {PDF Copy}
  6. Jesus, the Faithful Witness - (In the salutation to the seven churches, Jesus is identified as the Faithful Witness because of his self-sacrificial death) - {PDF Copy}
  7. The Firstborn of the Dead - (Jesus is the Firstborn of the Dead, a reference to his resurrection and the basis for the future resurrection of the saints – Revelation 1:5) - {PDF Copy}
  8. Ruler of Kings - (The faithful witness, Jesus, now reigns supreme over the Kings of the Earth and even over his enemies, and he is shepherding the nations) - {PDF Copy}
  9. His Priestly Kingdom - {PDF Copy} - (Disciples reign with Jesus as priests who render service in his Tabernacle and mediate his light and Word in the World)
  10. Seven Spirits of God - (Greetings are sent to the Seven Assemblies of Asia from God, Jesus, and the Seven Spirits of God that are before the Throne) - {PDF Copy}
  11. The Isle of Patmos - (John was exiled to Patmos because of his testimony – A fellow participant in the Tribulation and Perseverance in Jesus - Revelation 1:9) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Tribulation, Kingdom, Endurance - (Exiled on Patmos, John is a fellow participant in the tribulation, the kingdom, and the endurance that are in Jesus – Revelation 1:9) - {PDF Copy}
  13. The Testimony of Jesus - (The men purchased from every nation by the blood of the Lamb become priestly witnesses who persevere in the Testimony of Jesus) - {PDF Copy}
  14. The Lordly Day - (On Patmos, John found himself “in the Spirit” and projected to the “Day of the Lord” – Revelation 1:9-10) - {PDF Copy}
  15. The Priestly Son of Man - (The first vision presents the image of Jesus as one like a Son of Man, a priestly figure who walks among the Assemblies of Asia – Revelation 1:9-20) - {PDF Copy}
  16. Why Do the Nations Rage? - {PDF Copy} - (The conspiracy by the earth’s kings to unseat God’s Son is applied by the New Testament to the plot to destroy Jesus – Psalm 2:1-6)

  1. Seven Churches - Overview - {PDF Copy} - (The visitation of Jesus to the churches of Asia prepares the reader for the visions that follow the seven letters)
  2. Tree of Life - Ephesus - (The messenger at Ephesus is commended for rejecting false apostles, chastised for leaving his first love, and summoned to return to his first works) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Faithful Until Death - (The Assembly in Smyrna has faithfully persevered and is exhorted to continue to do so, even UNTIL DEATH - Revelation 2:8-11) - {PDF Copy}
  4. Hold Fast My Name - Pergamos - (Pergamos receives praise for remaining faithful to his name, but correction for tolerating the teachings of “Balaam”) - {PDF Copy}
  5. Thyatira - (The call to hear what the Spirit is saying to the churches begins to intensify after the warning about the teachings of Jezebel – Revelation 2:18-29) - {PDF Copy}
  6. The Inhabitants of the Earth - (The Inhabitants of the Earth represent the men who are omitted from the Book of Life because they embrace the Beast from the Sea) - {PDF Copy}
  7. Food Offered to Idols - (Daniel and his three companions refused to participate in the religious rituals of the Babylonian Empire – Daniel 1:14) - {PDF Copy}
  8. The Nicolaitans - (Deceivers within the seven congregations are encouraging disciples of Jesus to compromise with the idolatrous rites of pagan society) - {PDF Copy}
  9. Sardis - (The church in Sardis receives no commendation, only warnings, and is summoned to repent while time remains – Revelation 3:1-6) - {PDF Copy}
  10. Faithful Philadelphia - (Philadelphia receives no correction since she has remained faithful, and therefore, she will be kept from the hour of trial – Revelation 3:7-13) - {PDF Copy}
  11. Kept from the Hour - (The hour of trial will come upon the whole habitable earth, but overcoming saints will not experience this final judicial act – Revelation 3:10) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Laodicea - (The messenger in Laodicea receives no commendation, only corrections and warnings. The only hope is refinement in fire – Revelation 3:14-22) - {PDF Copy}
  13. The Beginning of the Creation - (Revelation looks forward to the reign of Jesus in the New Creation, a reality inaugurated by his Death and Resurrection) - {PDF Copy}

Church Ruins - Photo by sergio souza on Unsplash
[Photo by sergio souza on Unsplash]


The Living Word

The Suffering Servant