Revelation 4-11


[Click on the title below to open an article]

  1. Second Division - Outline - {PDF Copy} - (An outline of the Second Literary Division of the Book of Revelation from Chapter 4 through Chapter 16)
  2. Absent Church? - {PDF Copy} - (The Book of Revelation is a message to the Church concerned with its real-life situation as it bears witness in a hostile world – Revelation 4:1-3)
  3. Seven Seals - Overview - {PDF Copy} - (Upon his arrival before the Throne, immediately the Lamb began to open the seven seals of the sealed scroll)
  4. I Came to be in Spirit - {PDF Copy} - (On four different occasions, John found himself in the Spirit where he was transported to a new location to receive another vision)
  5. The Throne - {PDF Copy} - (The image of the Throne presents the reader a picture of God reigning over all things at the center of the Creation – Revelation 4:1-11)
  6. The Sealed Scroll - {PDF Copy} - (The One Sitting on the Throne held a scroll sealed shut by Seven Seals, and the universe was searched for one worthy to open it – Revelation 5:1-4)
  7. Worthy is the Lamb - {PDF Copy} - (The central figure in John’s visions is the slain Lamb who alone is worthy to open the sealed scroll and receive sovereignty over all thingsRevelation 5:5-14)
  8. His Priestly Kingdom - {PDF Copy} - (Disciples reign with Jesus as priests who render service in his Tabernacle and mediate his light and Word in the World)
  9. The Lamb of Israel - {PDF Copy} - (Jesus is the slain Lamb, the true Messiah of Israel sent by God to redeem humanity and Shepherd the Nations)
  10. The Exalted Lamb - {PDF Copy} - (The sovereignty of Jesus is based on his death and resurrection, the immovable foundation of his present reign in the book of Revelation)
  11. The Shepherd King -  {PDF Copy} - (The Lamb’s reign commenced with his death and resurrection, and since then, he has been shepherding the nations toward New Jerusalem)
  12. Redeemed by His Blood - {PDF Copy} - (The one people of God is composed of the men and women purchased from every nation through the death of Jesus)

  1. Seven Seals - Overview - (Upon his arrival before the Throne, the slain Lamb begins to break open the Seven Seals that enclose and the Scroll – Revelation 6:1 - 8:5) - {PDF Copy}
  2. First Seal - (The Lamb opened the first seal, releasing a rider with a “bow” seated on a white horse, setting out to “conquer) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Second Seal - (The second rider was sent to “remove peace from the earth” and to cause men to “slay one another) - {PDF Copy}
  4. Third Seal - (The third seal releases the rider on the black horse, producing economic hardship) - {PDF Copy}
  5. Fourth Seal - (The fourth seal released “Death,” followed by “Hades” to gather the dead in its wake) - {PDF Copy}
  6. First Four Seals Aftermath - (The Fifth Seal opening reveals the souls of martyrs kept underneath the altar as they plead with God for vindication and justice – Revelation 6:9-11) - {PDF Copy}
  7. Martyrs under the Altar - (The fifth seal revealed the souls of martyrs kept underneath the altar where they pleaded with God for vindication and justice) - {PDF Copy}
  8. Sixth Seal - Wrath - (The sixth seal ushered in the Day of the Lord, the time of wrath upon the inhabitants of the earth ) - {PDF Copy}
  9. Sealing the Saints - (The saints must be “sealed” before the onslaught of the “four winds of the earth) - {PDF Copy}
  10. Numbering the Saints - (144,000 males from the tribes of Israel are numbered and assembled for the march to the city of New Jerusalem) - {PDF Copy}
  11. The Innumerable Saints - (John saw an innumerable multitude of men and women from every nation standing before the Lamb and the Throne) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Standing Before the Lamb - (One of the twenty-four “elders” interpreted the vision of the innumerable saints standing before the Lamb) - {PDF Copy}
  13. The Redeemed of the Earth - (In Revelation, the one people of God is composed of the men purchased from every nation by the blood of the Lamb) - {PDF Copy}
  14. Silence in Heaven - (At the end of the seventh seal, seven angels prepare to sound their trumpets, unleashing judgment on the “inhabitants of the earth) - {PDF Copy}
  15. Martyrs and Overcomers - (In the Book of Revelation, overcoming saints persevere in their testimony for Jesus whatever the cost, even a martyr’s death) - {PDF Copy}

  1. Sounding the Seven Trumpets - (An overview of the series of seven trumpets and several intervening events) - {PDF Copy}
  2. First Trumpet - Hail - (The first trumpet blast unleashed forces that affected agriculture. Its plague was patterned on the seventh plague of Egypt) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Second Trumpet - Burning Mountain - (The second trumpet harmed much of the commerce on which human society, the “inhabitants of the earth,” relied) - {PDF Copy}
  4. Third Trumpet - Great Star - (The third trumpet resulted in a “great star” falling into the sources of freshwater, embittering them) - {PDF Copy}
  5. Fourth Trumpet - Darkness - (The fourth trumpet blast caused a partial darkening of the sun, moon, and the stars) - {PDF Copy}
  6. Three Woes - (An eagle "flying in mid-heaven" announces the last three trumpets, the "three woes") - {PDF Copy}
  7. Fifth Trumpet, First Woe - (The fifth trumpet unleashed the first of “three woes,” as malevolent creatures began to ascend from the Abyss ) - {PDF Copy}
  8. Sixth Trumpet, Second Woe - (The sixth trumpet unleashed the demonic horde from beyond the “Euphrates” to afflict the “inhabitants of the earth) - {PDF Copy}
  9. The Little Scroll - (John saw the scroll again, now unsealed and completely open, signifying his call to prophesy once more to peoples and kings) - {PDF Copy}
  10. Sanctuary Measured - (The sanctuary must be “measured” before the city can be inhabited, but first, it must be “trampled underfoot” by the nations ) - {PDF Copy}
  11. Two Witnesses Testify - (The Two Witnesses must complete their testimony before the Beast is unleashed from the Abyss - Revelation 11:3-6) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Two Witnesses Slain - (Persecuted by the impenitent inhabitants of the earth, the Two Witnesses lie dead on the main street of the Great City) - {PDF Copy}
  13. The Beast from the Abyss - (The Beast first appears when he ascends from the Abyss to wage war on the Two Witnesses after they complete their testimony) - (PDF Copy)
  14. The Abyss - (The Abyss is the source of satanic attacks against the saints even though it remains under the authority of the Lamb – Revelation 11:7) - {PDF Copy}
  15. The Forty-Two Months - (The forty-two months and 1,260 days both refer to the same prophetic period when the saints are persecuted) - {PDF Copy}
  16. Seventh Trumpet, Third Woe - (The seventh trumpet or second woe ushers in the consummation of the kingdom and the final judgment) - {PDF Copy}
  17. The Great Earthquake - (The final day of wrath will be characterized by unprecedented celestial and terrestrial events, including the final great earthquake) - {PDF Copy}
  18. Babylon Then and Now - (The story of ancient Babylon’s demise is reflected in the “sixth trumpet” and the “sixth bowl of wrath” in Revelation) - {PDF Copy}

Cosmos Rocky Mountains - Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash
[Cosmos Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash]


The Living Word

The Suffering Servant